The Break. It’s happening. (For now.)

 

So, it’s decided. I’m taking a break from MARKED. It feels like severing off a limb. (I’m guessing.) But it has to happen. Otherwise the anger I’m feeling over my work will literally cause my limbs to fall off. 

Let me explain. (About the break. Not the severed limbs.)

 

You read last week’s post. About gladly having the flue over writer’s block. Well, after a lengthy discussion with the sweetest most supportive husband there is, I’ve decided a break is what I need if I’m ever going to finish this beast with a smile on my face. (Heck, with an anything-but-a-grimace on my face.) Already, by taking a step back, the pressure has lifted. Ideas have begun to flow. I find myself excited about its return. Something I haven’t felt in a long time. (A giant THANK YOU must be inserted here to my husband. He had some amazing ideas that just might alter the book entirely for the better.) 

So, in the meantime, I write. I work. I imagine. I day dream. I read. I continue creating until this break is over. And it’s back to completing Oliver’s story. It’s melancholy, taking this break. But at least I’ll have my limbs to type.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Break. It’s happening. (For now.)

  1. Excellent. Pressure is a real killer to creativity. Sometimes even the decision of a break is enough to lift it, and a real break is often essential. The story will still be there when you come back to it. Cheers to you! :)

Leave a Reply

