Socially awkward, even online. An introverted writer’s dilemma.

Like I’ve said before, I’m an introvert. A lover of time alone; quiet nooks; conversation-less moments. My growing up years (and college years at that) were pre social media. True, MySpace was encroaching upon my generation, but not at such rapid speeds as its competitors have done today. It was refreshing, looking back. Time alone meant time alone. No pressure of second-hand connecting. No pressure of silent-yet-no-less-exhausting communicating. Time alone truly meant time alone. My laptop and me. My journal and me. Quiet. Free. 

I never realized how introverted I was until this shocking truth revealed itself to me: social media exhausts me. But why? It should be an introvert’s dream. No talking required! No eye contact! No non-stop talkers who drain every ounce of energy I’ve stored up being alone! Social media should be my faux extrovert escapism. 

And yet, it isn’t. 

I’m beginning to understand that sharing, whether it be by mouth or words, is in fact exhausting. Speaking, mostly, exhausts me. Which is why I’d much rather send someone an email. And yet, with thousands, millions, of people now conversing on the web, sharing via word is no longer a detachment from exhausting communication. It takes energy and time to vulnerably share thoughts and dreams. Doesn’t it? Even with our closest friends. And now that the Internet is closing the gap between friends and strangers (with just a push of a “follow” you’re privy to someone’s life like a close friend would be), communicating online presents an interesting question to introverts: does social media sharing wear you out? 

It does for me. A bit. Which is why I was so slow to joining it all. Twitter? Just joined. WordPress? Only a few months ago. It’s daunting, sitting down to write–knowing my purpose is to communicate my inner-thoughts as loudly as the pen can to those brave enough to read. But what I’ve found so rewarding about this journey is you. I’m realizing the social media community welcomes introverts. Even the socially awkward ones like me. You’re gentle. Offering feedback, encouragement. Just as friends would. You embrace my oddities–and share yours. 

And because of that, I plan on staying here a long time. So, thank you, dear readers. 

3 thoughts on “Socially awkward, even online. An introverted writer’s dilemma.

  1. I like what you’ve said. I think you’re right – it’s a way that introverts can connect and not get in each other’s way.

    I don’t Twitter, I haven’t gone that far. That seems more trouble to me, and yet I haven’t looked into it, so I don’t really know. I don’t have Facebook, either. My blog is it.

    My way around nerves is to totally ignore the fact that the whole world can read it if they want to. Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing visits clock up and I love it when someone takes the time to stop by and say hello. When a person decides to follow me, I’m delighted and sometimes surprised. But it’s nice. I’m meeting friends here in bloggsville, and it’s so great. I’m finding most of these people seem so very much like me. I feel I can connect so easily because I know straight away that they likely understand me already, just as I recognize what they’re saying.

    It’s got to be an artistic trait or something. Whatever it is, it’s nice. Cheers! :)

Leave a Reply

